First year essay contest winners

February 21, 2017 Stefanie Georgakis Abbott

In the spring of 2016, the Miller Center initiated a First Year essay contest with the help of Eric Xu, a first year student at UVA. Eric forged a partnership with the Wilson Journal and the International Relations Organization to promote and advertise the contest. The 2016-2017 awards went to: 

Winners: Nikola Marcich and Olivier Weiss

Runners-up: Jenna Wichterman and William Henagan

Honorable mention: Jeongmin Lee

The Miller Center will be holding a luncheon on Friday, February 24, 2017, with Director Bill Antholis to recognize the work of the prize winners.

You can read the papers of Nikola Marcich and Olivier Weiss